Baby · Uncategorized

Oh! Baby review

IMG_0409
The front of the store.

Okay, so we’ve all heard of Plato’s closet. Well this is the same deal, but with babies. I honestly love the whole idea. For those of you unfamiliar with the concept: they buy/sell gently used clothes, toys, baby gear, and furniture for babies. Considering how fast babies grow out of clothes and toys, this is great.

I randomly stumbled upon this store as I was driving on the south side of Salinas, I honestly don’t know how long it’s been running, clearly it never caught my attention before. Now that I have a baby of my own, their store banner definitely caught my attention, “Oh! Baby.” Cute name. Anyway, so I pulled over & went inside to check it out..at first I thought it was going to be a cute little baby boutique, but when I found out what it really was I was much more excited.

They have everything you can think of for baby. Clothes, shoes, cribs, strollers, carriers, toys, books, jumpers, swings, even maternity clothes & so much more! The store is very appealing as you walk in, pretty clean & organized. It’s all organized by size, so you’ll definitely have no trouble looking around. They have good stuff, a lot of name brands too. The pricing for some of those name brands tho are questionable..? They had this very cute Petunia Pickle-bottom diaper bag that caught my eye, looked practically brand new to be honest, but it was marked at $110? That’s almost retail price. Turn off. Might as well buy brand new if it’s only marked down $20. They did have other good stuff at good prices, you just have to pay attention to what retail prices really go for to make sure it’s worth buying used.

Anyway, I’ve sold at Plato’s closet before so I’m familiar with how the whole process goes, I also expected to get little $ out of the items I was selling. I mean I did expect a little more than what I got, but that’s okay I knew what I was getting myself into. If you’re interested in selling, you have to do it by appointment. You can either stop by the store or just call & pick an open slot, they’ll let you know what your options are. Once you’ve made an appointment they’ll tell you that you’re only allowed to bring 25 pieces of clothing, 5 toys, and 2 pieces of equipment or furniture at a time. But honestly, if you have a few more items than that I’d just bring them with you, the girl seemed pretty chill about me bringing extra.

IMG_8290

The process was quick & easy, and the girl who helped me was very welcoming and kind. I handed over my items, and she said she’d take a look while I was welcome to look around the store. Again, I was very impressed with all the things that they carried, I was walking around thinking, ” omg, I should have brought that!” Lol. When she was done rummaging through my items she called me over & let me know what my total was in store credit or cash, actually I should say check cus that’s what I got.๐Ÿ˜‰ If you choose to go with store credit, that’s obviously more than taking the money.

In the end, I wasn’t too disappointed because like I already said, I expected to get paid little for my items. I appreciate the whole idea and foundation of the store, and it definitely makes it easy for those of us looking to declutter our little ones mountains of clothes & toys, we all know how that goes. I don’t mind going back and selling some of Brielle’s more worn items, but most of the items I took were barely worn or never even used, so I feel like I could get a little more by selling it on my own. If that doesn’t work out, I’ll probably be back. ๐Ÿ˜…

If you’re not a local I encourage you to do some research in your own area, I’m sure you’ll find something very similar to Oh! Baby. I also advise that buying used baby clothes/gear can actually be a great/smart idea. You’ll save lots of money! Babies outgrow everything in a blink of an eye, especially in the first few months. Only advice I’ll give to those of you willing to buy used is to obviously wash! Sanitize! all items. Personally, I rather buy used off someone I know who is clean and takes good care of their belongings, especially if it’s going on my baby. I hope this was helpful to any of you looking to sell or buy used. โ˜บ๏ธ

Oh! Baby is located at 335 Monterey St, Salinas, CA 93901
Store hours: Monday-Saturday 11:00am-5:30pm
Call: (831) 424-2250

Leave a Reply

